Sneaky because they’re slightly cheating, but my god, they are delicious!

I think the Southern Hemisphere gets slightly ripped off at Christmas time. Instead of white Christmas, we get sweaty Christmas. No Christmas sweaters, cosy fireplaces, roast everything or hot cocoa dates for us. Instead we get beach hangs, BBQ’s, Christmas t-shirts and cold meats with salads. However nothing really “screams” Christmas like egg nog and pumpkin spice. Even though it’s not entirely weather appropriate for Australia, we all have associated these flavours with the festive season at one time or another.

DSC00261

One of my mum’s favourite beverages is egg nog, so as a nice Christmas treat I decided to put my baking shoes on and get cracking. Yes I used a basic box cake mix, but it doesn’t taste anything like one, cross my heart. This is a really easy recipe for those who don’t bake enough (me) to keep every individual ingredient in their cupboards/are too lazy to keep all the ingredients (also, me).

You will need:
1 box of basic vanilla cake mix, I used Green’s Brand Vanilla Cupcakes
Whole Eggs, as box requirement
Egg nog, depending on liquid requirement on box
Butter, as box requirement, softened is easier to mix as you can get the lumps out quicker
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 tablespoons(ish) of rum, I used Captain Morgans

DSC00244

Follow the packet instructions on the box, replacing the milk/water amount with egg nog. Mix with an electric beater on low until combined, then on medium for 2 minutes or until all lumps are gone.

Line your muffin tray with cupcake liners and evenly spoon cake mix into the liners. Cook in oven at 160c (fan forced) for around 17 minutes or until cupcakes
spring back at you.

DSC00246

While they’re cooking you can make the icing. You will need:
200g butter, softened or melted
40mL egg nog
500g icing sugar
A splash of rum
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

DSC00249

Beat butter until smooth then add egg nog, spices and rum. Beat until combine then slowly add in the icing sugar. I did it in 1/2 cup stages as it goes everywhere!

DSC00252

Once the cupcake have cooled for a good 10 minutes, ice your little hearts out! ❤

DSC00262

If you try this recipe, let me know what you think in the comments below.

Adapted from a recipe by Created By Diane.

 

