2 years ago, I worked in a gourmet grocery store and I purchased a very large tin (2.5kg to be exact) of peeled tomatoes. And since then, The BF has been asking me to make something with it. So this evening I whipped up about 4 litres of the most amazing tomato soup I’ve ever made.

After researching for a few hours and sifting through a few recipes, I mashed a few together and came up with this. I made the soup in 2 batches as my large soup pot wasn’t big enough for the amount of soup I made, but while I did this I tried 2 different ways of making the soup. The second batch I made tasted WAY better, it was much more flavoursome and I think it was because of the way I pureed the vegetables. This soup is 100% vegetarian and can be made vegan very easily, the second batch I made is vegan as I’m giving some of the soup away to a vegan friend of ours.

The recipe is for 1 batch of soup, which serves around 4-6 people, depending on serving size.

You will need:

1.5Kg tomatoes, either fresh or tinned. If you’re using fresh tomatoes I would recommend a punnet of cherry tomatoes and 1Kg of Roma tomatoes. If you use tinned, whole peeled tomatoes are fine.
3 carrots, cut for roasting
7 cloves of garlic, peeled
1 brown onion, cut for roasting
2L vegetable stock
1 teaspoon minced chilli
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 bunch of fresh basil
4 tablespoons basil pesto (choose a vegan friendly one for vegan recipes, or leave out)
Oil, for roasting
Salt and pepper, to taste

  • Preheat the oven to 180c, cut up all your vegetables and tomatoes (if using fresh, skip the tomatoes if you’re using tinned) for roasting and lay them in a well oiled and seasoned oven tray. Don’t worry if the vegetables overlap. Place them in the oven and allow them to roast for an hour.
  • Transfer the vegetables into a soup pot, add the fresh basil and blend with a stab mixer until smooth. Alternatively, put them into a blender and blend until smooth, then add to soup pot.
  • Place the pot onto the stove on a medium heat. Add the vegetable stock, and tinned tomatoes if you’re using them, to the pot and allow it to heat through to a light simmer.
  • Add in the chilli, balsamic vinegar and 3 tablespoons of the basil pesto (if using) to the pot. Taste test & season to your liking. Add another tablespoon of pesto if you wish.
  • Serve with warm crusty bread, parmesan cheese and fresh basil

If you try this recipe, let me know in the comments below.

xxx ThatGirlFromAdelaide

